So you want to move to the Czech Republic? No problem…….

So long as you plan ahead and can be very patient you will get through this!  Before coming to Prague I researched and read and sifted through all kinds of information without ever getting a clear picture of what it takes for a Canadian, American or other non EU citizen to stay and work in the Czech Republic.

Before we get started there are a few things to understand.  The Czech Republic is in the Schengen Zone – as a North American you can only spend 90 days of every 6 months in the Schengen Zone.

During my process I have kept detailed records of what it took for me, a Canadian, to become legal in the Czech Republic in 2013.  I can’t make any claims it will be the same in a week, or give any advice how it works for other nationalities.  Certainly there are companies that will help you with the process, for a fee of course.  Two things about me:  I like to know how things work, and I am pretty keen on holding onto my money.  Over the next few posts I will try to clear up some of the mystery around the process by giving a detailed account of my experience….

Persevere, it is a fantastic country and well worth the effort to be able to spend the time and settle in.

IMG_1156

4 responses

  1. I have looked through all your posts and want to say: Thank you so much!! I am considering teaching in Prague but first I want to have some idea of what to expect so that I know whether or not its possible. This is perfect for that. Thank you for taking the time to do this. I am sure you have helped many others as well!

    1. You are welcome! I am glad it is helpful, I was frustrated when I started to do this and couldn’t find current information.

  2. […] you’ve just stumbled upon my site and you are doing your first visa I recommend you start here with the more detailed posts from 2013.  If you just want the summery start back at part one. I […]

  3. […] These next posts will be a summary, if you want detailed information start back in November 2013 when I did this the first time. If you are new to the idea of moving to the Czech Republic you need to get a six month visa to start and can find details here. […]

Leave a Reply

